Quick Kitchen Conversions, Two Ways

21 Feb

We’ve all had this problem before. You’re standing in front of the dairy case at the grocery store trying to remember how many cups equals one pint. Or you’re trying to mentally calculate how many ounces of pecans is equivalent to 2 and 1/3 cups.

This was the problem I was facing last night as I was buying heavy cream to make ganache. Mmmmmmm ganache….

Luckily, you don’t have to Google “how many cups in one pint” like I’ve done the last thirty times. As you might suspect, there’s an app for that.

I’ve recently (read: today) discovered the Kitchen Dial app. Not only is it nice to look at, but it’s FREE and easy to use. It even has conversions for things in the *gasp* metric system, like liters and millieters. You know, for the next time you’re making a recipe off your favorite foreign cooking blog.

3.5 ounces? Well, that’s an easy 0.109 quarts. Okay, so maybe you don’t need it to be that precise…Did I mention there’s a way to rotate the dial by just moving your phone? It’s perfect for those moments when you don’t want to touch the phone screen…because your hands are covered in butter/flour/sugar/ganache…

If you’re looking for something even prettier (but less mobile), the blog Chasing Delicious has BEAUTIFUL Kitchen 101 conversion posters here. There are two posters, one by mass and one by volume.

Image from Chasing Delicious

If I had a larger kitchen, I would have these framed on a wall and displayed with pride. But, until then, I’ve got print outs taped to the inside of my baking cabinet.

So, no need to be the confused looking girl in the dairy aisle. Because, let’s be reasonable. In today’s day and age, there’s an app for that.

4 Responses to “Quick Kitchen Conversions, Two Ways”

  1. jenmaaninamman February 22, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    Love it! I’m off to download it now. Thanks.

    • cakerypapery February 22, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      I know! I can’t count how many times I’ve looked up something on these.

  2. Lonni February 22, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Love this! I def need this app ASAP.

    • cakerypapery February 23, 2012 at 7:56 am #

      Go for it! I’ve used this almost everyday since I’ve downloaded it!

Leave a Reply

