Friday Find: NARS Foundation

15 Jun

I just have to rave about the new foundation I purchased  last week. The makeup kind of foundation. It’s a liquid and it’s amazing.

Everyone knows that I’ve never been a big girl and actually purchased a liquid foundation. In fact, I never actually even wore any type of foundation until my junior year of college. I have always had a huge bias against foundation, especially the liquid kind. It  gives people lines around the face and it doesn’t let your skin show through. So you look like you are wearing a mask. And, I sort of feel women tend to pile it on (even more so if they are having a breakout) and then it looks like you are wearing a layer of frosting on your face like a cake. Face cake. Because clearly, the best thing you can do for your skin when its irritated is to pile more pore-clogging substances on top. And don’t even get me started on people who re-apply the face cake layer over tired layer at multiple times throughout the day.
Face cake is  why I’ve been extremely loyal to Bare Escentuals foundation. But, I have felt that sometimes it’s not enough coverage for me. I’d like a foundation that is more than a mineral powder but less than face-cake-frosting.
 
Which is why I LOVE LOVE LOVE the NARS Sheer Glow Foundation. It has great coverage that blends into my skin—no face cake lines here. A few drops gives coverage for your whole face, and my skin still looks like my skin. Plus, it moisturizes more than my mineral foundation, which I always thought dried out my skin a bit. My only complaint would be that it doesn’t have an SPF, but my moisturizer already has one, so I’m not too worried.
LOVE LOVE LOVE this foundation. I’m officially converted. Although, I do find it odd that my shade is Gobi, which, on the NARS website, is described as “for Asian skin tones.”
And yes, mineral foundation has minerals in it. But so does cat litter.
Leave a Reply

